NEXT EVENT: To be announced

Read more ...

VHFCNBA Membership Application

Ft. Lauderdale attorney and Virgil Hawkins Florida Chapter National Bar Association member Eugene K. Pettis has been elected President-elect of The Florida Bar for 2012-2013 and will be sworn-in Friday, June 22, 2012. Pettis, who will be the first African American president in Florida Bar history, will be sworn in as president-elect at the Bar's annual convention in June 2012,when Tampa attorney Gwynne Alice Young will be sworn in as president. Pettiswill become Bar president in 2013.

A founding partner of Haliczer Pettis &Schwamm, Pettis is a trial attorney who has been practicing law since 1985.

"The reach of the Bar and its members' contributions to public good is unparalleled," said Pettis. "Through my travels across the state, I have seen hundreds of lawyers who are using their skills in service to their communities. These observations have ignited in me even greater pride in our Bar."

Join us in congratulating Eugene Pettis for such a monumental accomplishment.

- C. Sha`Ron James, President
Virgil Hawkins Florida Chapter National Bar Association

VHFCNBA congratulates the law office of Parks & Crump! Daryl Parks & Benjamin Crump will receive the Henry Latimer Diversity Award in recognition of their commitment to ensuring that members of the legal profession reflect the diversity of the communities they serve.

The award is named after the late Henry Latimer, who was slated to become the first African American president of the Florida Bar prior to his untimely death in 2005. VHFCNBA celebrates the work of Daryl Parks & Benjamin Crump and is honored to present the award to them in conjunction with the Florida Bar Equal Opportunities Law Section and the Florida Association for Women Lawyers.

The award will be presented at the Florida Bar Annual Meeting during the Joint Diversity Luncheon. The luncheon will be held Friday, June 22, 2012 at the Gaylord Palms Orlando from 12:00 p.m.– 2:30 p.m. in Sun Ballroom B. Tickets may be purchased from the Florida Bar at

Join us in congratulating each honoree for such a monumental accomplishment.


Ashlee A. Pouncy, Esq.
LaShawnda K. Jackson, Esq.
Grasford W. Smith, Esq.
Karla D. Ellis, Esq.
Michael Davis, Esq.

Student Liaison
Allana Robinson Woods
General Counsel
Noel Lawrence, Esq.
Assistant General Counsel
Rachelle Munson
Immediate Past President
Antonya Johnson, Esq.

Contact Us

 SEND us a question or comment

PO Box 173015
Tampa, FL 33672

Anthony J. Hall, VHFCNBA President

JSN Sky template designed by